Pick out from among you …[those] … of good repute, full of the Spirit and of wisdom, whom we may appoint to this duty.” —Acts 6:3

The Session
In accordance with the Book of Order of the Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.), the Session governs our congregation. Our Session is made up of ordained laypeople (Ruling Elders)  who are elected by the congregation at its annual meeting, as well as the installed pastors of the congregation (Teaching Elders).

Ruling elders are so named not because they “lord it over” the congregation (Matt. 20:25), but because they are chosen by the congregation to discern and measure its fidelity to the Word of God, and to strengthen and nurture its faith and life. Ruling elders, together with teaching elders, exercise leadership, government, spiritual discernment, and discipline and have responsibilities for the life of a congregation as well as the whole church, including ecumenical relationships.


  • All matters of one’s commitment of faith and life, with no one quality constituting a per se disqualification for nomination, Acts 6:3 being a particularly good reference as a guide for selection.
  • A requirement of at least two years’ membership at First Presbyterian Church of Atlanta at the time of nomination.
  • Stewardship of time and money, including regular church attendance, pledging and participation in activities resulting in service to the church and the community, and the sharing of one’s talents and resources.
  • A strong willingness to serve anda firm commitment of time on a regular basis prior to election.

Term of Service
Ruling Elders are elected to serve terms of no more than three years on the Session and are eligible for re-election for a second term.  However, no Ruling Elder is eligible to serve more than six consecutive years and a Ruling Elder who has served six consecutive years is ineligible for election to the Session for at least one year.

Class of 2019

Paul Dimmick, Susan Farrar, Elizabeth Fogartie, Jeff Irby (Trustee-Elder),  Duggan Childers Lansing, Jeff Neikirk (Trustee-Elder), Cliff Orr, Jr., Karen Thompson, Mary-Ellen Vian, Gayle White, Kelly Williams, Matt Wirth, Lilly Jacobsen (Youth Elder), and Will Trimble (Youth Elder).

Class of 2020

Jane Lauderdale Armstrong, Betty Case, Katherine Drake, Brant Ferrell, Lloyd Flood, Tommy Hills (Trustee-Elder), Hill Jeffries, Elizabeth Jones, Tad Little (Trustee-Elder), Granvette Matthews, Gail Price, Julie Webster, Holt Cochran (Youth Elder) and Elizabeth Lansing (Youth Elder).

Class of 2021

Tim Bennett, Mary Busko, Denise Cables, E. Dale Dewberry, Becky Powhatan Kelley, Julia Newsom, Sarah Sumner Kirsch, Doug Orr, Gary Shell (Trustee-Elder), Greg Smith (Trustee-Elder), Jane Weyant, Whitney Woodward, Nick Benson (Youth Elder) and Charlie Trimble (Youth Elder).

Nominating Committee

The Nominating Committee is responsible for prayerfully recommending to the congregation a slate of twelve adult and two youth nominees for the position of Ruling Elder.  Meeting throughout the fall, the committee consists of twelve members, rotating six new members each year who serve a two-year term.  In February of 2019, the committee will present to the congregation a slate of nominees based on the received recommendations.  Those persons currently serving on the Nominating Committee are: Ruling Elders Duggan Lansing (co-chair), Jeff Irby (co-chair), Lloyd Flood and Gail Price; Betsy Hasson, Meredith Latham, Tom Lowry, Tommy Meade, Jennifer Oppenheimer, Mary Catherine Sutherland, Ed Trimble and Gail Watson.